Pyramids of Giza: A must see in Egypt

The Great Pyramid of Giza are a symbol of Egypt and the last of the ancient Seven Wonders of the world.
Giza’s pyramids have held the mysteries of the pharaohs and today they serve as Egypt’s most popular tourist attraction.
They are classified in the World Heritage of Humanity since 1979 and are located on the Necropolis of Giza at 8 km from the city of Giza and 25 km from Cairo. The three most famous pyramids are Cheops, Chephren and Mykerinos.
Cheops Pyramid: Tomb of Pharaon Cheops, she was built over 4500 years ago and it is a marvel of the world. The only one of the seven to still be there. This flagship monument of Egypt is the largest stone building ever made.


Chephren Pyramid:

The second-tallest and second-largest of the ancient Egyptian Pyramids of Giza is Chephren Pyramid. It was built for Khafre, the son of Cheops. The pyramid has a base length of 215.5m and rises up to a height of 136.4 metres.




The pyramid of Mykerinos is the smallest of the three great pyramids of the Giza plateau. It stands at 62m tall with a base of 108.5m. It is thought to have been built to serve as the tomb of the fourth dynasty Egyptian Pharaoh Menkaure.
Nowadays, millions of people continue to visit the pyramids each year, drawn by their towering and the enduring allure of Egypt’s rich and glorious past.
The site is open every day, from 8am to 4pm.
The box office is at the top of the main road that goes up on the plateau. The visit can be done by camel, horse or carriage. And personally, for the accommodation, I was at the Meridien Hotel Pyramids. The hotel has a splendid view of the pyramids and is very close to the site!

Imen Mokhtari


Leave a Reply